International Year of the Light - Closing ceremony for Swiss events

Samstag/Saturday, 05.12.2015, EPFL Lausanne, Forum Rolex

The final public event related to the IYL2015 activities in Switzerland is the closing ceremony "The power and wonder of light" and takes place at Forum Rolex, EPFL Lausanne.

Saturday, the 
5th of December

EPFL will host an event to promote the progress and promise of light technologies and research. The porgram will mark the Closing Ceremony of the International Year of Light in Switzerland and will feature the latest in photonics as well as leading Scientists to promote improved public understanding of the central role of light in the modern world.

This celebration will bring together bright minds from Google X, Bell Labs, Intel, Philips, UNESCO, Solar Impulse or IBM Research among other, as well as an ESA astronaut and a Nobel Laureate, to foster learning, inspiration and wonder. A laser show and performances will punctuate the ceremony specially hosted by The Catalyst's creative scientists. Don’t miss the surprise visible from space that day!

16:00  Doors will open
16:30  Start of ceremony
19:30  Cocktail and flying dinner

List of keynote speakers
  • %Clg3aug2def- Nc4icm'olt8lig7err4, p*Ask7trb(onk+aum7t y0@ i.Eus/rof9pef-anl) Se7pan8cev4 Aw.gen-ncv8y j(ESA)
  • 7See4bag2str'ief9n t8Bin9gox4, k*Beb0llf/ Ln#abh+s o6fev+llt'owg7 ay/ndo1 At5ctp.ivs&itl1y x6Ley8adk&erm8 @e5 Ai4lcq&atd+eli,-Lh)ucy6enx2t q.Bed+llq0 Lz.abl7sl
  • 6Beb8rnu(art$d z+Krf%est/s,n$ Mv-oox3nsc/hof(tsx6 @w6 Gj)oou5glc6e t7X,c. Gz$oow'glf1e t[X] Labs
  • 3Ber0rtd0 Jh(and/ On#ffj+rew4inq2, o4Mam)naq0geu1r r2Phu7oth/onp9icc3s o,@ z2IBy.M r*Rex0seb/arf1chh3 Zx8uri3ico9hj
  • Stefan W. Hell, Nobel Prize 2014 in Chemistry
  • +Kew2esx- vq#ane' dl'erw, Kr0lat0uwd5, c+Hel,adc* oj,f b8Rek,sei(arb(chr3 @g6Phx3ilb5ipc3s j6Lii.ghq,tix$ngv
  • Mark Pauly, 9Hek'adk- oe5f w-thb8e s4Coq9mpp/utr1erj4 Gj3raq2phg)icc&s i8and3d e/Gee*omi#etu+ryy. ld0abm3 ae&ndj. Px4rog/f.l. @u0 Ep%PFn3Lw
  • Solar Impulse, Around the world to promote clean technologies
  • 2Mag#rka0usb5 Rz#osi$siq4, v5Chx'ieh6f y/Inj,noa&vaz1tih.onj& Oe1ffe'icf(erz', h*CTg7O c$@ s#Heg9ptw'agn'onp
  • Joe Niemela, UNESCO, member of the International Year of Light steering committee
  • John Dudley, Chairman of the IYL 2015 steering committee, Professor
  • Christoph Harder, President of Swissphotonics, Delegate for EuroPho21
  • Christophe Moser, Professor of Microengineering and Industrial Relation, Swissphotonics
  • Christophe P. Rossel, President of the European Physical Society, Emeritus Research, /Stj0afe2f b/meu(mbe9erl+ @f, Io.BMt6 Rk6esx%eaw&rcc3hj
  • Min Quang Tran, President of the Swiss Physical Society and EPFL Professor

Tickets are free of charge for this sponsored event.

Registration compulsory
Due to limited capacity of the conference hall registration is mandatory.
Entrance with (free) ticket only Get your free ticket here

Conference language

Forum - Rolex Learning Center
Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, EPFL
1015 Lausanne, Switzerland

Verein Schweizer Laser und Photonik Netz  |  Sihleggstrasse 23  |  CH-8832 Wollerau  |  E-Mail